Nobel Prize in Physics for the prediction of the Higgs field

One year after the discovery of the Higgs boson, François Englert and Peter Higgs are awarded the 2013 Nobel Prize in Physics for the theoretical prediction they made decades earlier, together with the late Robert Brout, of a new pervasive fundamental field in the Universe. This field, known as the Higgs field, manifests itself through the Higgs boson and gives mass to elementary particles through the Brout-Englert-Higgs mechanism.

Skip to content